Mexico Munching: Day 1 and 2

23 May

Simply put, Mexico makes me happy: the heat, the water, the bright colours everywhere, the friendly people, and of course the food. Mexican food is quite possibly one of my favourite types, and when I come to this country, I definitely don’t hold back. Over the past week it’s safe to say that I consumed my weight in guacamole, tortillas, and various tropical drinks infused with coconut milk and pineapple juice, never once getting sick of my delicious daily routine. Of course, my trip wasn’t all about food (although that is always a big part of it), so here’s a look at the resort I stayed at, as well as the amazing edible delights I enjoyed at The Grand Mayan situated between Cancun and Riviera Maya.

Day 1:

Arriving in Mexico is always a little chaotic. Hoards of pale North Americans buzzing about, many stepping foot in this hot country for the first time, almost unable to contain their excitement of pending poolside fun. While I have already been to Mexico, I’ve never been to the Cancun side. The airport itself didn’t offer much cause for confusion, and of course, like the Puerto Vallarta airport I have visited many times before, there was that blasted button, which always seems to give me the honour of the red light. But it’s simply a small delay on one’s way to a week of rest and relaxation – it’s a good thing they don’t do a similar exercise on your way back home as you leave somewhat sunburnt and extremely sad.

The ride to the resort wasn’t long, and offered an interesting look into the surrounding landscape. Flat and lush, the Cancun-Riviera Maya stretch is much more tropical than I remember the Nuevo Vallarta ride to be.  The arrival at such monstrous resorts like The Grand Mayan, always stops my heart a bit. So large and exquisite, the stone gates are not only physically impressive, but also summon you into a week long fantasy where your biggest decisions are what bathing suit to wear and what pool to swim at for the day.

A view of one of many pools at The Mayan Palace, Riviera Maya

One of the indoor common areas at The Grand Mayan

A peaceful isolated cabana area at one of the Grand Mayan pools

I took a shuttle to the Grand Luxxe section of the resort which offers rooms equipped with full living amenities such as a large kitchen, two bedrooms, two and a half bathrooms, two living rooms, a dining room and a large balcony with its own mini swimming pool.

One of the rooms in the Grand Luxxe suite

One of the bathrooms of the Grand Luxxe suite

One of the balcony’s off of the main living room of the Grand Luxxe suite, with a patio-pool

I met up with the rest of my family, who had already arrived, and then headed down with them to a nearby burger bar called The Burger Custom Made (for a link to this restaurant, and all the others mentioned in the next posts, please click HERE). There are 13 of us in total, including a 4 year old and a 9 month old baby, so the nights where we want to eat all together require particular planning and sensitively when considering the dining environment. The Burger Custom Made was a great place to eat for patrons of all ages, and more importantly, a great place to enjoy the company of the extended family I rarely get to see.

The menu was large and kid-friendly, but also had a wide selection of gourmet burgers that please a more mature palate. I had a lamb burger served on peasant bread with roasted Mediterranean vegetables, feta cheese, and an olive tapenade. My burger was accompanied by a delicious cup of truffle-oil fries, and to drink, I went for one of my favourite cocktails, a Mojito. Other dishes enjoyed by my family members at The Burger Custom Made included a salmon burger served with an Asian-style slaw, as well as a 5-cheese macaroni.

A Mojito at The Burger Custom Made restaurant

Mediterranean lamb burger with roasted vegetables, feta, and an olive tapenade, served on peasant bread

Salmon burger with an Asian-style slaw

5-cheese macaroni

 Day 2:

The next day I began my “rigid routine”:

Wake up. Eat a light breakfast of yogurt and fruit. Head to the gym (a necessary feat when considering the volume of consumption). Head to the pool. Order varying combinations of fish tacos, guacamole, tortillas, and colourful alcoholic beverages to lull me into a warm state of afternoon bliss.

As mentioned in Smart Snacking and then again in Heating Things up at Home, I could happily eat my way through a pool filled with guacamole (although thankfully ours was actually filled with normal swimming water), so naturally my first order was guac and chips.

To quench my thirst, I tried a classic strawberry margarita, and mix of tropical fruit juices with a slash of soda water.

Left: strawberry margarita, Right: orange, pineapple, papaya juice with soda water

Afternoon dining was decidedly casual with its poolside setting, lounge-chair seating, no-shirt-no-shoes dress code, all set to the soundtrack of laughing children cheerfully splashing around in the water.

After a relaxing evening of jacuzzi-ing and deck-drinking, I met the whole crew at an outdoor Mexican restaurant called Balche.

There, I enjoyed a dish called “Veracruz” which offered a light white fish in a spicy sauce of tomatoes, olives, capers, onions and green peppers, served with cilantro rice and sauteed vegetables. Other dishes of note included traditionally prepared beef tacos, another fish dish of grilled grouper served on a banana leaf, and an interesting sliced salad with carrots and jicama and citrus fruits.

Chips with four salsas of varying heat

Chips and guacamole

Veracruz Fish

Traditional beef taco

Grilled grouper with sauteed vegetables and grilled fruit

To drink I had a tangy margarita on the rocks containing orange, pineapple, lemon and lime juice.

After dinner a few of us wandered down to the water, where we danced the night away to the rhythms of a fantastic live band with an ocean breeze keeping us cool from all the beach-side boogieing.

A relaxing day, a delicious dinner, and a fun night. I decided that if I were to maintain this “routine” I would have a rather successful week.

For more, check out Mexico Munching: Day 3 and 4, and Mexico Munching: Final Highlights

4 Responses to “Mexico Munching: Day 1 and 2”

  1. Wynne 23/05/2012 at 5:04 PM #

    Thank you for sharing your Mexican experience! The food sounds wonderful. Enjoy!

  2. Beaudette 27/03/2015 at 12:26 AM #

    this sounds great, what was the average cost of a meal? This is my first time to mexico and I don’t know what to expect for food cost- it’s me & my husband a four 16month old baby. Thanks!

    • Shortt and Sweet 06/04/2015 at 11:29 AM #

      Hi there! Sorry for the delayed response. This is an old blog that I don’t contribute to or monitor anymore. In all honesty it was such a long time ago that I don’t quite remember the cost of the meals. The resort was the Grand Mayan though if you’d like to look it up in general 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Mexico Munching: Day 3 and 4 « Shortt and Sweet - 28/05/2012

    […] By the third day of my Mexican retreat I was well in the swing of things. Same morning routine as mentioned in Mexican Munching: Day 1 and 2: […]

Leave a Reply

