En Route – Not so Plain Plane Food

23 Aug

When you think of plane food your first instinct is probably to get out your Ziploc bags and pack a nasty smelling tuna sandwich, because we’d rather torment the rest of the cabin with putrid tuna-infused recirculated air than stomach the over-cooked under-flavoured tinfoil-wrapped mess that they throw on our seat trays. However, this journey I was actually more excited about the food than the multitude of movies and TV shows I had to choose from. Well, to be honest with you the thing I was most eagerly anticipating were those awesome pods that allow you to have a horizontal rest in a quiet and isolated environment, but this is a blog about food, not spaceship-like airplane innovations.

The first culinary experience of my journey was actually in an Air Canada Maple Leaf Lounge. I had a 5 hour layover and decided to pass the time by taking full advantage of their drink and snack bar. 1 Caesar, 2 glasses of red wine, 1 latte, a plate of veggies and dip, chickpea salad, a bowl of cream of broccoli soup, 3 different types of cookies and I was good to go for my flight.

Upon arriving to my seat I was greeted by a lovely little menu describing some of my in-flight dining options.

I began my feast with a glass of cabernet sauvignon, a selection of cheeses and breads, mixed greens and the salmon appetizer.

For my main course I chose the tenderloin.

For dessert I decided to have a couple tablets of melatonin instead of the selection of fruits or the pecan tart. This naturally occurring sleep aid knocked me right out and once I finished watching “The Fighter” it was off to dreamland…lying horizontally in my pod of course.

I awoke to a delicious omelette, fresh fruit and some green tea which I quickly devoured before we touched down in London.

All in all I’d say I was quite impressed. I mean, if you can get me to wake up an hour earlier than I need to because I’m terrified of missing the breakfast, then I’d say you’re doing pretty well.

3 Responses to “En Route – Not so Plain Plane Food”

  1. Lindy aka. Mom 24/08/2011 at 8:31 PM #

    I finally discovered how to take a look at your blog. Yes, Air Canada has come a long way over the past few years, especially when it comes to the sleeping arrangements. Now, if they could just get the kosher food to look and taste better………..

    Continue having a marvellous time and sending us your lovely and lively updates.

    Love,

    Mom

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Coming Home with a Sad Heart and a Full Stomache « Shortt and Sweet - 24/10/2011

    […] level of astonishment over the food that was offered on my Air Canada flight to London in the post En Route – Not so Plain Plane Food, nothing compares to the impeccable service I received on this German […]

  2. Coming Home with a Sad Heart and a Full Stomach « Shortt and Sweet - 24/10/2011

    […] level of astonishment over the food that was offered on my Air Canada flight to London in the post En Route – Not so Plain Plane Food, nothing compares to the impeccable service I received on this German […]

Leave a Reply

